¡Hola! ¡Hablamos español y estamos listos para ayudarte!

Hit-and-run crashes on the rise

Florida Highway Patrol announced that the number of hit-and-run crashes has significantly increased in Florida during the last two years. “Hit-and-run crashes are a growing problem in Florida,” says Director of FHP, Col.
David Brierton in an FHP Press Release.

Florida had approximately 70,000 hit-and-run crashes in 2012, which determined Florida law enforcement agencies and FDOT to start education campaigns and activities meant at reducing the number of hit-and-run accidents, as well as related causes, such as driving under the influence (DUI).

Given the increased number of this type of incidents, whenever you are involved in a hit-and-run crash, associated or not with DUI, you should look for specialized legal advice from an experienced Fort Lauderdale criminal and DUI defense lawyer.

Hit and run statistics for Florida

The statistics for this type of event in Florida are worrisome. In essence, hit-and-run crashes involving fatalities increased from 162 in 2011 to 168 in 2012, the number of hit-and-run crashes statewide equaled 69,994 last year and three out of every five fatalities in 2012 were pedestrians struck in hit-and-run crashes, according to the FHP.

What do you do if you are a victim in an accident

Florida Highway Patrol notes that, in the case of an accident, you should:

  • CALL law enforcement
  • REMAIN calm
  • ATTAIN vehicle, witness and driver information
  • SKETCH the scene, showing vehicle crash locations and
  • HELP the injured

Accident regulations in Florida

If you get involved in an accident, remember the Florida regulations:

  • The driver must immediately stop and remain at the spot, must trade data, and render logical help to any harmed person.
  • Leaving the scene of a crash involving a death commits a felony of the first degree and carries a maximum penalty of 30 years in a state correctional facility and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
  • Leaving the scene of a crash involving injuries commits a felony of the third degree. It carries a maximum penalty of five years in a state correctional facility and/or a fine up to $5,000.
  • Leaving the scene involving property damage commits a misdemeanor of the second degree and carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in county jail and/or fine of $500.

How we can help

Given the very serious consequences of a hit-and-run, avoid getting involved in this type of situations, don’t drink and drive to prevent DUI charges, and make sure you hire a specialized criminal lawyer to help you with the legal procedures.

Share This Blog

Ask a Question,
Describe Your Situation,
Request a Consultation

Call (954) 522-9997 or fill out the short form below. We will usually respond within 1 business day but often do so the same day. Don’t hesitate, your questions are welcome.

* Required Fields

Your Information Is Safe With Us
We respect your privacy. The information you provide will be used to answer your question or to schedule an appointment if requested.

Follow Us On

Law Offices of R. David Williams, P.A.

15 SW 10th St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315Questions or Schedule An Appointment? Click to Call (954) 522-9997

Contact Us

Law Offices of R. David Williams, P.A.

Hours of Operation

Mon - Fri : 9 am - 5 pm
If you have been recently arrested or charged with any criminal offense in South Florida, you need an aggressive, experienced criminal defense attorney to represent you.

© Copyrights 2022. Law Offices of R. David Williams, P.A. All Rights Reserved.

The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship.

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram